What do you believe....

_Fr0zEn

Registered Member

I know this is long, but it'd really help me out if you could read it all and maybe say something in reply. Thanks a lot - Fr0zEn

Hello everyone. I am new to this message board. I was searching google for religious debates and came across this site. I've been eyeballing it for a week or so, and finally decided to become a member and make a post or two.

I grew up (in portland) in a Christian family. I have a brother and a sister, both of which, as far as i am aware, claim to be Christian. If you had asked me a year and a half ago, I would have claimed the same thing. So what changed? What do I claim now? To be honest, I'm not entirely sure. The summer before and the entirety of my senior year of high school seemed to bring much change to my life.

I stopped going to church for two main reasons; 1) I didn't have any good friends. I was nice to everyone and people were nice to me, but no good friend that I did stuff with outside of Bible studies. 2) My parents stopped going, claiming that the church's views and teachings were too narrow-minded and literal (or at least thats the reason I gathered). I think thats around where things started to change. I think I got this attitude about me that I was better than the other Christians at the church because I didn't believe the Bible literally; I had this higher, more sophisticated belief in which Satan wasn't a rouge angel and heaven and hell weren't physical places where a soul goes. This self-glorifying attitude scared me when I talked to a good Christian friend about it. She just blew it off as something that everyone goes through.