Worldview and Religion

BenTheMan

Dr. of Physics, Prof. of Love
Valued Senior Member
Ok, just one ground rule. If you're an athiest and feel the need to tell me why Christianity is the worst thing to happen to humanity, I don't care. I've read the books and know the arguments---I assure you that you can't tell me anything I don't already know. Likewise, I have spent eight years among the most conservative christians in the US. I know what you will say, and again I assure you---you won't tell me anything that I haven't already heard.

To both parties---please don't insert your (unwanted) opinion here.

If you have an objective comment about the following, however, please feel free to make any rational points.

I will trust a moderator to ensure that these guidelines are followed, as per Plasma Inferno's ``Rokkon'' rules.

As a scientist, I have trouble believing in things like a virgin birth, or Jesus walking on water, or TRex eating vegetables, or any of the other stories that people teach in sunday school. In line with Hume, the rational point of view is that Genesis is an oral tale like any other oral tale from any other culture, and that biblical miracles can be attributed to natural phenomena.

I do not feel, however, that a belief in God is wholly illogical, and that such a belief is not in contradiction with Nature in general. In other words, divine intervention at the start of the universe doesn't preclude the universe from following a set of physical laws. (Whether we can KNOW these physical laws is another thread. This point of view also leads me to the idea that, perhaps, there is no free will.)

I am a lapsed Catholic, and have been struggling with the following question: Should one's religion dictate one's worldview, or should one's worldview dictate their theology?

I think religion guides our worldview, but like everything else, its best not to take someone else's word for it.