Russia's New President

Oxygen

One Hissy Kitty
Registered Senior Member
Did anyone else catch this? Russia's new president has ordered back into production for military use several craft that Yeltsin had put out of production as evidence of his peaceful intentions to the rest of the world. The phrase that was used was "His message to the West is that Russia is still a military force to be reckoned with...".

My paranoia-bunyon is acting up. We go through so many years of smiles and handshakes from Yeltsin, disarm and otherwise get into a generally gosh-isn't-this-great-we're-all-getting-along-now mindset only to have this guy traipse in and start reforging offensive weaponry?

I'm no expert at body language, but fromt he footage I saw of him on TV, there was something about his mannerism that told me this was not a man of peace. He walked with a clenched fist, and he never seemed to let his eyes rest on any of the officers he was meeting for more than a second. His eyes would dart away as if to say "Yeah yeah yeah. Let's get this over with."

Maybe the cameras just caught him on an off-day, but I'm still gonna dig that bomb shelter. I just get the feeling that this guy means trouble.

------------------
I may not agree with what you have to say, but I will fight, kill, and die for your right to say it.

[This message has been edited by Oxygen (edited May 08, 2000).]

I saw a local news teaser last night: "Russians swear in a former spy as President, tune in to find out how this will affect you."

Former spy? Is that really important? I still come across GOP supporters in the US who don't know that George H.W. Bush was director of the Central Intelligence Agency.