Quick Question from the new girl

Belle

Registered Senior Member
Hey everybody!
I'm a newbie here and I hope I'm not going to get swallowed alive....
Right. I have a quick conversation starter here. See, my parents are very conservative Christians and I'm a pretty liberal Agnostic (makes for a crazy home life:rolleyes: ) I have a sister who lives in Georgia with her boyfriend and my parents won't let me visit her b/c I'm an "impressionable teenager". I might catch her bad morals while I'm there or something. Any ideas on what I can to do convince them to let me go?
Ya, kinda boring topic, I know. Hopefully I'll get better with experience :D
-Belle

And what is the worst case scenario if you disobey them and just pack a bag, leave a note and catch a bus (or whatever) while they are at work?

Other than eternal damnation in Hell and all that fire and brimstone stuff?

Besides the Hell thing...

knowing them they'd probably lock me in a closet when I got home.
But that's not what I was looking for when I posted this. I was looking for a logical way to convince my folks to let me go. I'd prefer to still be on somewhat-good terms with them.
-Belle

Hi Belle,

Welcome to sciforums.

Suggest that while you are visiting your sister that they pray for you. Since Christians claim that genuine prayers are always answered then there can be no way that you could come to harm or be influenced to your detriment. If they refuse that tactic then ask why they ever pray if they don’t believe that prayer works.

Well, I guess if you REALLY WANT TO stay on good terms with your parents:rolleyes:...

Well, give us more facts.

What is so horrible and damaging to you from visiting your sister?
Why is she so bad for you?
Just the "living in sin" thing?

What would be their specific arguments for not letting you go?
Give us those, and maybe we can give you some rebuttals.

Cris,
hmmm...that is a good idea. I'll have to try that one!

One_raven,