Probability of God

Live4Him

Registered Senior Member
Hello all,

I'm new at this forum (i.e. this is my first post). However, I've been quite active in two other forums. So, in debates, I'm not a newbie. Yet, I haven't got a handle on this forum style just yet. So, if I make mistakes (formatting, etc.), please forgive me.

As far as my posting style, I tend to get to posts once a day. Yet at times, several days can pass before I get a chance to address posts if I'm busy.

And without further ado ... let's tackle the subject at hand.

One of the posts that I read contained a probability of God. That got me to thinking about this topic. What is the probability of the existence of God, without naming names, existing? What I mean by "God" is some supernatural being that has omniscient and omnipotent capabilities. To answer this question, one must ask a simple question. "Where did I come from?"

To determine a probability, one can measure the actual results over time. But, on certain questions, it is impossible to answer based upon repeated results. For example, the Twin Towers collapse in New York cannot be duplicated multiple times. Therefore, other methods are more practical for determining the "probability" of that event. Thus, some times it is necessary to determine the probability by eliminating other possibilities. For example, we could reasonably state that the towers did not collapse because of the wind that day.

Since this question (Where did I come from?) is of this nature, I will be utilizing the technique of eliminating the alternative answers in order to objectively determine the probability of the existence of God.

There are many theories that attempt to answer that question. In fact, there are too many to address in this short post. However, I can address two of the more common theories.

NATURALISM