Present copywrite laws are insane and stifle innovation ... Discuss

buffys

Registered Loser
Registered Senior Member
My understanding is that originally copywrite was supposed to be 14yrs and then end. I'm all for creators getting paid, im an artist myself and would be really PO'd if after all my work someone just took it and started making cash from it without me BUT the copywrites are getting longer & longer if we all keep our greedy paws around our creations or innovations indefinitely no one wins. Look at disney, they built their empire on public domain fairy tales and yet they are the worst for enforcing their copywrite on 40 year old cartoons in some cases. From my limited knowledge of the situation the problem isn't only in the arts either, scientific research is being seriously undermined by this trend.

sorry, I just needed to rant and I also really wanted to hear from others on this topic (hopefully people who know more about this than me, i'm afraid my knowledge in this area is still fairly superficial).

Agree or disagree, just have a good argument and youll make my day.

thnx

I should add the thing that got me thinking about this was a lecture I'd heard on-line at http://technetcast.ddj.com/tnc_play_stream.html?stream_id=702 . Its about an hour long and sort of wet my appetite for information on this subject.

I can understand why people would have objections to this copyright policy, but I support it.

Why should a copyright expire? Why should your intellectual property ever cease to be yours (or your estate's, when you die)?

Can you imagine paying royalties to the family of the person that invented the wheel?