Not for justice, but salvation

Tiassa

Let us not launch the boat ...
Valued Senior Member
A Texas inmate, Michael Rodriguez, has asked to die.

"I am a college graduate and have no delusions what will occur as an end result of these proceedings," death-row inmate Michael Rodriguez wrote in the first of a series of notes.

Rodriguez, one of the notorious Texas Seven, who escaped from state prison in 2000 and killed a police officer while on the lam, has dropped his appeals and wants to die.

He can't.

A federal judge signed off on Rodriguez's request Sept. 27, two days after the U.S. Supreme Court decided to review the constitutionality of lethal injection in a Kentucky case. But a state judge won't set an execution date for Rodriguez until after the high court rules on the Kentucky case.

(Graczyk)

He probably will be executed at some point; the only real questions are when and how. Rodriguez, originally sentenced to life in prison for taking out a contract on his wife, received a death sentence in 2002 for his role in the murder of police officer Aubrey Hawkins. Although his lawyer is urging him to continue the fight, Rodriguez apparently wishes to get it over with.

Do not be conned, though. Rodriguez's ultimate motive involves justice only peripherally. For the convicted cop-killer, there is something far more important at stake in his execution: his immortal soul. According to the AP's Michael Graczyk, "Rodriguez told a psychologist who interviewed him before a competency hearing that he 'had to accept his death sentence and submit to it as payment in order to be forgiven and obtain salvation.'"

Greed is a powerful motivation. The eternal soul the most valuable of currencies. Does God know what is in a man's heart? Does God care?

Graczyk, Michael. "Texas inmate seeks death; court says no". SeattleTimes.com. November 18, 2007. See http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/nationworld/2004020760_texasdie18.html