Belief in God to be saved is unjust, life without God is better.

jayleew

Who Cares
Valued Senior Member
Christians, depending on sect, have varying views of heaven and how to get there. But the all require a belief in Christ.

This is an unjust requirement. We are all predispositioned at birth as individuals. Then, we are all taught to believe different things. Some things, we come to reject. Others are burned in to our core being as it is compatible with our predisposition. These ideas can be true or false, but they are part of who we are.

It is wrong to require belief in someone like me who would have to deny who I am and live a lie in order to believe. If there is a just god (which would be one that I would follow) then it seems to be an outrageous requirement. I lived a lie and denied myself for 10 years. I locked away all my doubts in a closet in my mind, and completely embraced the teachings in the Bible. I studied it and lived it. It helped me even keep everything locked in the closet. It was a terrible battle of the mind to ignore what my mind was telling me. Sometimes it was worse than others, but I clung to the Bible and fellow Christians like a good Christian should.

I had little control over who I am today, but I do have a choice. And I tried for 10 years of my adult life to shut away who I am to follow that one requirement. I thought as long as I kept on believing, one day God would make this belief real. It's all I could possibly do to believe. I couldn't erase everything I absorbed before then as a child. I distinctly remember when I was 19 I nearly became atheist. But, I finally chose to lock it away because I found issues with evolution being the tool that resulted in human beings. Boy did I jump into Christianity after that choice. I did give it an honest effort for 10 years.

It is wrong for a god to require me to believe to reach heaven just as it is wrong for me to require a theist to not believe in order to live.