What Are The Limits To Kin Selection In Humans?

th.w.heller

Registered Member
Whenever the subject of human conflict (no matter what the scale) comes up during lunchtime discussions a colleague of mine invariably brings up kin selection as the obvious underlying reason. I accuse him of gross overgeneralization. Am I wrong? I'm a bioinformaticist / molecular biologist with a strong background in biochemistry and biophysics NOT evolution and population genetics although my recent interests and studies are straying towards the latter. What are the limits to kin selection in humans? Is there any correlation between Dunbar's Number (or a reasonable facsimile) and such a limit? If kin selection is fairly limited what comes into effect beyond that limit - reputation-based social institutions which soften "the limitations that kinship-based and (direct or indirect) reciprocity-based altruism place on group size" (Norenzayan and Shariff, Science 322:58, 2008)?
Thanks, TWH.

I had really hoped somebody would have posted with some thoughts on this question. It isn't my field of expertise and was hoping for some illumination on something I find very interesting. I have also found it very hard to find anything concrete in the literature - perhaps I'm just not searching properly.

Is that where we are kind to people that resemble us, but aggressive towards outsiders?