The Real Test: God vs God

Tiassa

Let us not launch the boat ...
Valued Senior Member
Atheists! Grab some popcorn!

Seriously, the reason I've never done this before is that I generally don't trust our atheists as a whole to let things lie. I think TruthSeeker's recent thread shows that. So I appeal to our atheists: Let us see what comes.

And now:

The Real Test: God vs. God

One of the primary points I seem to disagree on with most theists is that God has to be anyone, anything, &c. I think that if you check with our atheists, I've been more than patient in my defense of religions, such that I have a right to be disappointed in the present religious voice. Newcomers, understand that it's all been done before--and poorly. We've seen the gamut of expected religious ... (I'm looking for a word other than "blather" and not having an easy time of it) ... assertions ... and the one thing I know that I, personally, have not seen, is a serious attempt to merge religion and reality to any functional degree.

Thus: Demonstrate to me or anyone that your God is the true God. Short of that, as I understand that to be a considerable task, evangelize your faith in such a manner as would cause someone to wish to undertake it.

To examine those challenges:

- True God: I've found that Abramic religions put the most weight on the actual name of God. Nonetheless, supreme beings as they are, it would seem that one must necessarily be truly supreme, or, as the pope has it, "first among equals". One of the core components of many deities is their totality, the assertion that this deity is the supreme incarnation. Sell me on the idea that your God is that God.