Stingray Attacks

Walter L. Wagner

Cosmic Truth Seeker
Valued Senior Member
Stingray attacks such as the recent one on Steve Irwin are reported as extremely rare. How dangerous are stingrays and manta rays?

Did the Irwin stingray sense its victim by other than sight? Was its tail barb guided by electrical/sound signals given off by Irwin? Is swimming directly over a stingray likely to result in an attack?

Lots of questions, and I'm not an expert on rays and sharks. I just try to keep my distance. Any experts out there?

Walter L. Wagner said:
Stingray attacks such as the recent one on Steve Irwin are reported as extremely rare. How dangerous are stingrays and manta rays?

Did the Irwin stingray sense its victim by other than sight? Was its tail barb guided by electrical/sound signals given off by Irwin? Is swimming directly over a stingray likely to result in an attack?

Lots of questions, and I'm not an expert on rays and sharks. I just try to keep my distance. Any experts out there?

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/Mrd/mspcont6.html

http://www.jeannieshouse.com/oceanarium/mantas/manta.html

http://www.elasmo-research.org/education/topics/lh_stingray_city.htm

"Stingrays (Dasyatidae) use their greatly enlarged pectoral fins to excavate the bottom, searching for shellfish that they crush with broad, flat teeth. It is common to find these rays buried in sand or mud. If an unwary wader steps on this ray, they could be stung by the poisonous tail spine. The pain from the sting is excruciating"

google is your friend

Last edited:
TOR:

The first two links were bad. (Page not found).

The third link had an interesting tidbit.

It reported that circa 2001, an Australian 'bloke', while diving in Fiji, swam over a large stingray, and it stung him in the chest. His heart was punctured, and he died one day later from his wound.