Russianicity

Xotica

Everyday I’m Shufflin
Registered Senior Member
Are European Russians and the indigenous peoples of Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia all related in an ethnic/genetic sense?

The people's of the earth are related in a genetic sense. Ethnically, as with anywhere, there are a mix of ethnicities, but I think the dominant ethnicity throughout the lands you mention is Slavic. The historical events when Stalin sought to change the population balance in the Baltic states, for example, was more a question of nationality and culture than ethnicity, I think.

As far as I know, and I am no expert, Europeans and Russians descended from a tribe known as the Proto-Indo-Europeans. They probably came from the Pontic steppe or Anatolia. But were quite possibly a number of tribes scattered throughout both areas. They then migrated west and northwest into modern European Russia, and the rest of Europe. South east into modern Iran, and further east into India.

However, there were already some people living in these areas. The Basques in Western Europe. The Sami people in northern Sweden, Norway, Finland, the Kola Peninsula of Russia, and the border area between south and middle Sweden and Norway. And many other peoples in Europe, Persia, and India.

This is why nearly all the languages in Europe (except Finish, Hungarian, Lithuanian, and a few others) are all of Proto-Indo-European origin. As are Persian, and many of the languages spoken in India.

But as Ken Natton points out, we are all related genetically. There is more genetic diversity between a German Shepherd and a Pitbull, than there is between a San Bushman, and a Native American.

Are European Russians and the indigenous peoples of Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia all related in an ethnic/genetic sense?

I would separate the 3 Baltic states from the 3 Slavic nation , but I would add to the Slavic Bulgarian and Serbs.