Random breeding of dogs.

aaqucnaona

This sentence is a lie
Valued Senior Member
I am studying [currently, through books, lectures and documentaries] evolutionary biology [I am actually a student of animation and filmaking]. Reading about domestication and breeding, espectially in dogs made me wonder:
What if 100-150 individuals of all modern breeds and hybrids of dogs were released into a appropriate ecosystem [or national park] and left alone for some time. What kind of changes can be expected in 5,10 years, in 25, 50 and 100?
It would be helpful in understanding gene pools in nature but I could figure out what kind of results would be expected. If u would take this up as a though experiment, what results would u expect?
Would chivavas be naturally selected to be larger? would poodles lose their unnecesary fur? Would the population have less variablity as fashionable breeds die out? Would some breeds speciate as they no longer mate together in nature? Would they we recognised and scientifically named as such?

I think they will roughly revert back to a wolf-like body plan and wolf-like behavior, thicker coats and appropriate coloring.
Dogs with short legs or short snouts would probably not survive at all.
You'd probably end up with something like dingos given large enough starting population and time.

What if 100-150 individuals of all modern breeds and hybrids of dogs were released into a appropriate ecosystem [or national park] and left alone for some time. What kind of changes can be expected in 5,10 years, in 25, 50 and 100?

About 20 years ago there was a show on strays in mexico. I cant remember if it was NOVA, or Nat. Geo, or who did the show but basically they noted:
Two color types, black and tan (light tan, like a yellow lab).
Floppy ears.
Narrowed head and muzzle.
Smaller (40 lb average).
Shorter hair like a lab.

They had followed several generations and noted these attributes became the norm. It was a long time ago so the details escape me now.