Please help me understand as my brain has burst about this!

UKJoy

Registered Member
Hello. Please have patience with me, because although I love the sciences, as I find virtually all of it fascinating, I am not a scientist and just a layperson, so please forgive my unscientific terminology. Thank you.

I've been reading about the machines that make DNA, RNA and protein, and I think I just about understand the stages involved, though that's about all so far as the way it all happens is too mind-blowing for me to get my head around just yet.

My main question that I can't get over in my head, is if all the machines are made from protein and RNA (in a human cell for example) and all those machines are needed to produce protein anyway; then in the very beginning of life evolving on Earth how could those machines be there without protein and how could protein be there without those machines? 'Chicken and egg' conundrum!

I have tried to find a valid explanation, but in layperson terms I'm not finding anything reasonable, though I'm sure there must be something in scientific papers, so I'm hoping someone here with that level of intelligence could please 'translate' the science for an ordinary person to understand.

I've read the theories about abiogenesis and Clay Theory, and meterors carrying proteins, random chance, etc, but even I can challenge those with my basic knowledge, so they don't satisfy me as being solid answers - like; surely the heat involved in a meteor strike would have destroyed any protein on it?

I have read about the ribosome having similarities to certain forms of bacteria, and that really interests me; so if anyone has theories about the start of life related to that idea I'd be very interested to read that answer. Thank you very much.

UKJoy said: