Not that simple, is it?

RateLimit

Registered Senior Member
Are prions the answer to "curing" AIDS?

This guy has an interesting prelimary idea. Message is a bit old, but maybe someone can help me out- has there been research progress on prions in relation to HIV? What exactly is the relationship? I have basic knowledge of prions, but what exactly is the link between prions and HIV?

From 2001

The only real problem I can see with the suggestion is this:

They are planning on using the prions to target the adhesion proteins on the surface (gp120 I guess), and make the receptor a prion. This would prevent infection, but would not kill the virus, which would stay dormant in the host.

The author says that the prions can flip back to the natural conformation from the prion form. So, the virus stays in the host until that happens, and infects anyways. I guess it would be delayed for an undeterminate amount of time, though.

Just some thoughts.

The major false premise in this idea is that prions are always self replicating, this is not true by far, in your body now a fair percentage of proteins have miss folded but they do not replicated! To replicated the prionized protein would have to have a shape that can induce conversion of its normal form and the normal form would also need a shape unstable enough to be converted into this self-replicating form. Also the prion of infectious Spongiform Encephalopathy kills by being able to arrogate into long protein crystalline rods that cannot be digested by the normal mechanisms of protein recycling and that rupture the cell membranes killing the neurons. All of these combine criteria are extremely rare as of now it is only known to happen to one class of protein. To attack aids with prions would require all three of those criteria to be effective, a very unlikely event.

The latest and most hopeful idea is to use RNA interference, a similar idea to the protein interference prion concept only far easier to do.