Nonbeliever wants an explanation of a movie theme.

Dinosaur

Rational Skeptic
Valued Senior Member
I have a lot of knowledge of theology and religious concepts, but think that believers and I have very different thought processes. I hope that this post will result in some explanations rather than attempts to indoctrinate or convert me to some religion. .

I recently saw a movie about a top notch professional football player who died before his time was up due to some clerical or other error by the powers that be in heaven. It was decided that he should be allowed to live out the remainder of his life using the body and identity of somebody destined to die.

This movie was a remake of a movie involving a professional boxer in the same situation.

In both movies there is somebody whose destiny is to die at about the same age as the protagonist, thus providing a suitable body and identity. The protagonist is allowed to live out the rest of his destined time using the body and identity of that other person.

During most of the movie, the protagonist has a mentor from heaven and is aware of his situation. At the end of the movie, the protagonist is told that he will remember nothing of his former existence. He will not remember his mentor, his untimely demise, or any of the people he interacted with in his former existence. It is implied that he will have the memories as well as the body and identity of the other person.

When I saw the first movie as well as when I saw the remake on TV, I wondered who really survived death in his youth. To me the protagonist is dead. The new entity has no memory of that existence, while he has all the memories of a different life history. It seems to me that the second person has survived.

There is an implication that the soul of the protagonist inhabits the new body. This suggests to me that the soul is not associated with the memories or consciousness of an individual.