Monsters, Boogey men, and Dark Places

CutsieMarie89

Zen
Registered Senior Member
As a scientist, I rarely think about "monsters" and "boogey men", but a fellow classmate of mine brought something to my attention the other day. He said that his son refuses to sleep in his bed because he is convinced something is living underneath his bed. Of course my friend thinks this notion is silly and tried to show his son nothing lives under there. I think its funny that a great number if not most children regardless of race or culture or background have similar fears of monsters or demons or some type of creature hiding out in dark places. At first I reasoned that maybe it had something to do with a child's psychological development, which would explain why most children experience these fears. I'm trying to be more open minded now so it made me think are there creatures that can't be seen in the light? Creatures that only children see because they are open to all experiences unlike adults who close off their minds. Children can hear at much higher frequencies than adults is that why they hear noises that their parent don't? I firmly believe that all myths and legends come from somewhere so what's up with small children and animals seeing, hearing, and reacting to things that older humans can not or (possibly choose not) to see or hear?

I think you got it right first time.

The growing mind is not immune to the evolutionary struggle. It must defeat its own monsters and overcome its own fears so that the whole being can grow and progress.

I just thought it was strange that kids from all over the world claim to see, hear, or sense the same type of things. Why monsters at all?

Human mind's preoccupation with imagination and fear. Among its other preoccupations.

cutsie, did you ever think that it might be genetic memory?