martial arts and religion

robtex

Registered Senior Member
Martial arts and religion

I realized that over the last few months I have been banging on what I don't believe so much that I have not mentioned what I do believe so I decided to find something I did believe but that could not be proven and move from there. I noticed a lot of guys on here have some martial arts training and I wanted to talk about the parallels I have experience between marital arts and religion.

To give you my background I have been studying martial arts since the mid-80's and have taken about four years off in total time between my start and now. In that time I have studied tae kwon do, aikido, wing chun and jujutsu. My lifelong experiences in the martial arts have had a parallel to my experience in religion.

When I was a teenager still in high school I studied Tae Kwon Do. It was my intro in the martial arts and knowing nothing about the martial arts at all it was my reality of all that was martial at that time. I remember people coming in from other arts, kenpo, Judo and various schools of karate to practice at the tae kwon do school. The school was pretty old and established and many guys had been there for some time by the time I got there. A lot of them had studied Tae Kwon Do most of their lives and knew very little of any other martial art. When the kenpo, karate or judo guys that visit would bring up points about their martial arts many of my senior students would disagree with them and say things like

"one kick to the head and fight is finished"...Or "tae kwon do is a more modern approach to martial arts"