Libraries and copyright laws.

jps

Valued Senior Member
Not sure which forum this fits into so i'm putting it here.

Maybe someone with a legal background can answer this.

Whats the difference between a library buying a book and lending it out free of charge to the general public and someone buying a book and putting the contents online?
Either way someone borrowing/viewing it can read it without paying, or if they choose, copy it and sell it for profit.
Why is one legal and the other not?

Many librarys have videos and music too.. so it seems there's a parrallel with file sharing.

I'm no legal expert, but my guess is that this is allowed because the library purchases and therefore rightfully owns the copy of the book, which allows them to do whatever they want with it as long as they don't charge money or violate copyright laws by unlawfully reproducing it.

Kind of like letting your friend borrow a book or DVD.

I suppose, but if someone buys a book and puts it online wouldn't that be the same thing?
You're allowed to do what you want with copyrighted material, including making copies for your own use, so putting a book or song online, seems like it should be legal. I guess thats a different argument though

Its MP3s all over again
except this time big greedy companys arnt involved :)

I just think that the way copyright laws are applied to digital data dont' make a lot of sense...I mean it would be legal for you to lend your cd to your friend, but illegal for him to make a copy of it, so if you put a file on a file server, it seems like that should be legal, but if someone downloads it and therefore copys it that should be illegal.

how come video stores rent out games and movies, but not cds........
yet music is free on the radio, but them guys dont seem to complain about that....

whats going on in this topsy turny world!!

i got the perfect slogan for a Tshirt
we got free-speach, why not free-listening!
:)

Originally posted by A Canadian