Is western Islam watered down?

Ivan Seeking

Registered Senior Member
First, I am not an expert on Islam or any other religious beliefs for that matter.

I have heard arguments that as Islam spreads to the west, it also strays further and further from fundamental teachings. I have heard the statement that the beliefs of a typical western Muslim are contrary to at least some historically fundamental Islamic beliefs. Is this true? Is this true for all sects of Islam as viewed by any particular sect? Is there anything unique about western Islamic cultures as opposed to those in the Near East?

I am short on time so I'll be back later. Any comments are appreciated.

Maybe

Islam is remarkably diverse from locale to locale. I tend to agree that Western Islam is watered down, but that agreement is based on the notion that Westerners do all sorts of things like religion only half-assed. Technically, it's healthy. I've joked before that the primary difference between a Muslim and a Christian is that the Christian has found something more important than God. In these United States, at least, that seems rather quite true: that something is money.

"By the grace of God almighty, and the pressures of the marketplace, the human race has civilized itself. It's a miracle." (Roger Waters)

But running against the notion of watered-down Islam is the diversity of Islam itself. In the West, fundamentalists often pick on the Catholic church for its sympathetic assimilations of pagan cultures. While those sentimental to paganism resent this assimilation, the fundamentalists tend to see that brand of ecumenism as "watering down" Christianity. I tend to disagree; it shows the flexibility of doctrine, even in the case of Catholicism where these strange adaptions and absorptions were seemingly rare examples of flexibility. Comparatively, Islam is a skilled contortionist.

Some random links; I haven't read them all completely. Just enough to hope they're relevant and helpful.