How to judge someone have a good future?

iamguyu

Registered Member
How to judge someone have a good future? God, please answer me.

I am a computer programmer. These days, a lot of my colleagues left for other companies. The reason they left is for more salary, more famous companies, and higher position. I'm wandering, is that the best way for a person to improve his/her life quality? I thought if I am a glod, I will shine eventually. But now, I think I'm a stone. I'll stay wherever I can stay. Does everyone think so? Please tell me what you think about this. :(

Last edited:
You don't say how old you are. I'm not sure you understand all the different things in life that can make a person happy or sad. As important as your job is, it's only one of the major factors in your life. Others include your family, your hobbies, your community, and your religion if you have one.

If your family life isn't happy, or isn't complete, or perhaps you don't even have a family, then it doesn't matter how much satisfaction you get from your job, your life won't feel complete. And vice versa. You may have the most wonderful wife and children on earth, but if your job sucks you'll feel like something is terribly wrong.

But back to the job. Some people like change. Some people like stability. You have to know which type you are before you can answer your question. I stayed in one job for 28 years. When I started out it was a pretty enjoyable job, but toward the end it wasn't so great. Still, I appreciated the stability, knowing that I didn't have to worry about being fired and having to look for a new job. Yet I finally left, and even thought I've had a lot of hard times and a lot of uncertainty, people tell me that I seem to be happier than I used to be because the work I do now is more meaningful.