Group selection

Group selection: is it real?

• Yes

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No opinion. Why am I even commenting? Let me just vote and sneak away.

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters

GeoffP

Caput gerat lupinum
Valued Senior Member
So: is it still the boogeyman that it was when I was a PhD student? We were regularly lectured on the tomfoolery of the group-ists, complete with a Two Minutes' Hate directed at GC Williams.

What's the opinion of the biologists on here? Anyone care to comment? I have to admit...it's quite reasonable. Lines clearly go extinct. It doesn't seem any less arbitrarily applied than individual fitness, save that it probably often involves major environmental changes bordering on catastrophic. Or does it? Opinions?

I have trouble visualizing why group selection would be necessary.
Could you tell me why you think it is necessary to exist?

I don't know that you could call it "necessary". Why would you say "necessary"? Are you saying that all selection is on individuals so that the term isn't necessary?

I don't know that you could call it "necessary". Why would you say "necessary"? Are you saying that all selection is on individuals so that the term isn't necessary?

Group selection is an idea to explain how groups evolve over time, right?
I'm asking why the idea of group selection is necessary to explain evolution, as it seems 'individual selection' would suffice.

Yes - and no.