Genetic Diseases/Metabolic Pathways

bruce2k

Registered Member
Hi,

As part of my degree I am studying PCR analysis of DNA. I will be studying the effects of different enzymes have on the DNA after. So for example, in people who are lactose intolerant, I will study the gene sequence before and after the addition of B-Galactosinase. I am wondering if anyone knows of a good databse with the pathways for the genes/enzymes of interest.

I want to look into a number of disorders too so any advice or where to look for the genetics of the diseases and their metabolic pathways is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Welcome bruce2k. :)

Hmmm. I have to say that this doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. If you are looking for some input, you will need to provide more detail and clarification. (As an aside, I think you mean beta-galactosidase.)

....after the addition of beta-galactosidase.

Are you referring to some sort of in vitro experiment? Surely you can’t mean human experiments because (a) you won’t get ethics approval to give people a pure enzyme to consume and (b) it won’t work anyway because the beta-galactosidase enzyme is merely a protein and will be digested like any other protein – swallowing it won’t restore lactase activity and reverse lactose intolerance.

If it’s an in vitro experiment, how will that work? Are you going to simply co-incubate beta-galactosidase with some DNA? If so, what makes you think a hydrolase enzyme that acts of carbohydrate substrates to catalyze the hydrolysis of β-galactosides into monosaccharides will have any effect on DNA? I imagine that beta-galactosidase will have no interaction with DNA at all.

I will study the gene sequence....

What gene sequences will you concentrate on, and why? Are you referring to genomic DNA? Specifically, what type of analyses will you perform?