Gene Therapy

riws

Registered Member
Hi Folks

I am a doctor by training from India and am deeply interested in the subject of Gene therapy. I want to make this my future calling.I would be grateful if I could get some guidance here because there is very little awareness about this subject.

I tried to find out about institutions where I can study further but came up with very little information.There is only Upenn.edu where a MS course is there in Gene Therapy (Upenn has a MD in Gene therapy as well ) and a MSc in Human Molecular Genetics in Imperial College London (UK.)

Are there any other institutions besides these where I could learn this subject. Secondly,what are the prospects for Gene therapy in near future ? Is it just an academic subject right now or is there scope for clinical practice ?

Thanks

Rishi

Rishi,

As you are a medical doctor then I presume you would want to participate in human clinical trials. I suppose the doctors involved in clinical trials have an immunology and human genetics background, as well as knowledge of the particular disease that the gene therapy is targeting in that trial.

For trials in America, the FDA has an extensive reference section on cellular and gene therapy.

http://www.fda.gov/cber/gene.htm

If you search through this section then I’m sure you will find examples of current trials and where they are being carried out. Maybe if you contact the relevant institutions you can become involved in that way. Perhaps you could also find the FDA equivalent in other countries as well.