evolution to blame?

curioucity

Unbelievable and odd
Registered Senior Member
Hello

I'm wondering about various animals', well, 'feeling' (maybe I'm using a wrong term here, see below).
Okay, I'm not good at talking so I'll just give examples:
Compare reptiles and mammals. While most reptiles seems to only think the way of: "give me food or leave me alone", mammals seem to be able to think more of it, perhaps because of their ability to learn? It seems that only mammals and maybe birds which develop such, umm, instinct or whatever it is, while others starting from reptiles to non-Chordatas don't...

Give me an argument.

A reptile started raising its children and teaching them some 65+ million years ago, that was a behaviour it developed.
Mammals descended from this creature, and so kept that behaviour, in most cases expanding on it.

This is true.
Other areas of the animal kingdom have benefitted from developing large brains with a substantial mental capacity.
But you'll find mammals have a similar kind of intellect, in relation to the rest of the animal kingdom anyway, it is still different from species to species but mammals in general share many common traits, not only in appearance and taxonomy but behaviour also including mental reactions etc.

And that is one of the reasons why they are in a class of their own!!!

BTW Curiocity, to answer your title question: everything in biology can be blamed on evolution!

The is no evidence for Darwinian / Lemarkian style evolution, it is a misleading approach.

All aspects (mechanisms of expression generating compatible genetic patterns) of LIFE ( a super-organism) are already genetically and structually present in the seeds of LIFE. Genetic manipulation ( based on a specific set of genes, but the choice is a random throw) of genetic recombination.