Earliest time for fetus DNA?

Syzygys

As a mother, I am telling you
Valued Senior Member
This issue came up in Boston Legal, and I thought the way how they did it was impossible. So let's run it by the board:

Denise realized she got pregnant, and since there were 2 possible fathers, she took DNA samples to compare it with the fetus' DNA.

Now I am guessing she was about 6 weeks into her pregnancy, and I think that is way too early to check a fetus' DNA withoutserious medical penetration into the womb. I can see that when doctors can get a blood sample of the baby, the DNA comparison is easy, but I would put that time much later in the pregnancy.

Also that early in the pregnancy there is no medical reasons (there could be legal) why they should endanger the fetus by trying to DNA sample it.

But I am not an expert, so feel free to correct me...

Amniocentesis

BORN TO DIE BABY. When I was born, my mom told me, the doctor who received me kicked me lightly to check if I could feel it...I did feel it...but instead of screaming like all the others...I hummed at him.

"That said, you'll want to consider the small risk that the procedure will cause you to miscarry. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the risk of miscarriage from amniocentesis is between one in 200 and one in 400, depending on the skill and experience of the doctor performing it. You'd also have a slight risk of uterine infection in the days following the procedure (less than one in 1,000), which can sometimes lead to miscarriage. These are all things you should discuss with your partner, your practitioner, and a genetic counselor."
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/327.html#3

So Denise is ok to have a 1/200 chance of miscarriage rather than give birth to most likely a healthy baby.

Very good show.