Crime and punishment and "second chance"

Raha

Registered Senior Member
Let’s start with this: basically I am against capital punishment. My main argument is that because capital punishment is – in “civilized” societies – used in only case of murder, capital punishment is not appropriate one. If murder is unacceptable than every killing should be considered unacceptable. If government or society “feel” they have moral right to kill somebody, than anybody might feel the same. Is that clear? If not, I’ll try to explain it later.
Recently I studied some criminal cases and was really intrigued by the case of Leopold and Loeb from 1924.

More info about the case:
http://www.leopoldandloeb.com
http://www.crimelibrary.com/notorious_murders/famous/loeb/index_1.html

Two extremely intelligent guys from wealthy families who killed 14 years old Bobby Franks with no apparent motive were saved from gallows by famous Clarence Darrow. Loeb was later murdered in prison by another inmate, while Leopold was paroled after some 34 years in prison. Leopold, while still in prison, studied, mastered several languages, taught other inmates, worked in library, volunteered for malaria treatment tests and was really a model prisoner. After release he moved to Puerto Rico, worked in hospital, acquired university degree, did some research work about birds, worked in charity – in other words, did his best to be good and useful citizen.
This case is usually used as evidence against capital punishment – if Leopold have been hanged, he would not do all those good things he did. Strangely enough, with me it worked quite the opposite way. Leopold was given another chance – and he used it. But is it right? Is it OK to give any murderer a second chance? Who will give the second chance to the victim? What do you think?