Atlantis and other lost continents

Oxygen

One Hissy Kitty
Registered Senior Member
Given plate tectonics, is the story of Atlantis possible? It's true that, over decades parts of formerly dry land can sink below sea level and even become inundated, but for a whole continent to become ripped apart and have parts sink like ships seems implausible. Are tales of Atlantis and Lemuria more like ancient Science Fiction?

Well I'm no expert on the Atlantis theory, but I keep an open mind about things. But something like that to have an island or continent for that matter to disappear off the earth within just a few days or so seems unlikely seeing since the plates move at such a slow rate.

Oxygen,
I for one do not think Atlantis
is science fiction. I believe there is plenty of evidence to support its existance and destruction. Some scientist
believe that the earth's plates can move rather fast sometimes to have great changes over a rather short period of time.

[This message has been edited by Alien (edited December 22, 1999).]

Oxygen-

I have heard about, and saw some kind of documentary on about the maps of Antartica that have been found. They are very old, and the shape of Antartica is the shape of the land that is currently buried under mega tons of ice. There is no way those maps could have been made without some kind of aerial (sp??) survailance, and back in those days, that kind of thechnology simply didn't exist. Plus, to see the land under the ice would require pretty good technology as well. One theory is that the entire crust of the earth could swing about, what used to be equator would now be near the poles, and vice-versa.