After Death

Cactus Jack

Death Knight of Northrend
Registered Senior Member
Hi, I'm new to this sight and first would like to say it's pretty cool and hello to everyone.

For my first Post I want to pose a question I've been looking for thoughts on recently:

What do you think happens after we die? And how do your views effect the way you live life and its meaning?

-Thanks

Being an atheist I look at death (speaking about the mind) as an end to thought. That's what the word death means, ceasing to exist, therefore ceasing to think. Your conscienceness no longer occurs.

its hard to say since i myself seem to be doomed to immortality.
the undying experience a collectivley growing thought structure, not unlike the aging with the balancing of acids and bases in a fine elegant wine.

ahh i taste good

But doesn't the idea of end of conscienceness cheapen life and make it seem less worth living?

Only if you let it.

And you just touched on a possible beginning of religion. People, in general, do not like the idea of death ending conscienceness. And how much worse do you think they liked the idea thousands of years ago when there was little/no science? So people made up better answers!

Hence, shamans.

God is the creation of man to feed his need for immortality, and no one can question it cause no one knows. I don't know what I belive.

Also: I read your post on your lifestyle and agree - school, weekends, money, stuff some people think are important truley aren't. F#ck 'em you have to find out what you belive in and just because your dreams may shatter doesn't mean you should slow down. - Just Live

Hi cactus, welcome to sciforums.

What do you think happens after we die?
If we die at the end of the universe, then not a lot. However, if it is before that time then I suspect other people will carry on as usual. If you were important and famous then the stock markets might register a blip, but otherwise, a few people might remember who you were.

Cris

Chris,