A New Physics Theory of Life

Well, DAMN!!! :xctd: If this is true it blows away the whole concept of my thread on what if we really are alone in the universe. But that's okay. I am not a scientist, I'm more of a half-educated local forum irritant and jokester, but hows about you real scientist behave like proper scientist and admit when a new idea blows the old one out of the water? I'm not anticipating a whole lot of opposition to Jeremy England's ideas, but if I have learned anything on this forum, it is that people get caught up in side issues and go off on pointless tangents - like I am doing right now!

This is really incredible news.

Why does life exist?

This was really interesting.

Yes, this seems quite profound. “You start with a random clump of atoms, and if you shine light on it for long enough, it should not be so surprising that you get a plant,”
“I am certainly not saying that Darwinian ideas are wrong,” he explained. “On the contrary, I am just saying that from the perspective of the physics, you might call Darwinian evolution a special case of a more general phenomenon.” https://www.simonsfoundation.org/quanta/20140122-a-new-physics-theory-of-life/

If this was true we should expect to find life on the moon, since it has atoms and sunlight. There are many other factors involved.

If this was true we should expect to find life on the moon, since it has atoms and sunlight. There are many other factors involved.

If you had read as far as even the second paragraph:"The formula, based on established physics, indicates that when a group of atoms is driven by an external source of energy (like the sun or chemical fuel) and surrounded by a heat bath (like the ocean or atmosphere), it will often gradually restructure itself in order to dissipate increasingly more energy."