A legal question

buffys

Registered Loser
Registered Senior Member
I just ran across this article (don't worry it's very short). Now I'm not starting an anti/pro abortion thread, there are plenty of threads for that if you want debate. I just have a question about Texas law.

The article talks about an 18 year old man that beat his pregnant girlfriend causing a still birth and he is now being charged with murder. Is abortion illegal in Texas now? The article mentioned a recent change in law,
"Texas law now defines an embryo or fetus as an "individual'' and allows for criminal prosecution or civil court action to be carried out for injury or death to the fetus, unless it results from a medical procedure".
Am I reading that right? Abortion is murder unless a Dr does it? I know laws are often convoluted but do you think this kind of contradiction can be maintained? I don't see how but I'm not an expert, any input from the more learned members here would be appreciated.

NOTE: Again, I understand the desire to be philosophical about this issue but please don't turn this into an abortion debate, I'm just curious about the logic in a legal sense.

Last edited:
Sorry to do this but...

bump.

I guess I shouldn't be suprised there have been no responses yet since I don't want an abortion debate but doesn't anyone have any info to offer? I'm really curious about the legal "legs" of this issue.

Laws like this one which essentially define a fetus as a human being are made to intentionally create an inconsistency in the law . At some point, this inconsistency will result in a challenge, and the hope of those pushing laws like these is that there will be conservative courts in place then that will outlaw abortion.

If this law was motivated by a real desire to protect fetus', a law could easily be madey creating the same penalties for the crime of "involuntary abortion" or something of the sort which would not require creating an inconsistency.